17 Edgar Wallace Titles

Collection of seventeen Edgar Wallace titles from the 1930s. Wallace was originally a journalist, and went on to become a prolific writer of thrillers and other fiction; one of his publishers claimed that a quarter of all books in England were written by him.

Wallace wrote screen plays, poetry, historical non-fiction, 18 stage plays, 957 short stories, and over 170 novels, 12 in 1929 alone. More than 160 films have been made of Wallace's work. He is remembered for the creation of King Kong, as a writer of 'the colonial imagination', for the J. G. Reeder detective stories, and for the The Green Archer serial. 

He sold over 50 million copies of his combined works in various editions, and The Economist describes him as "one of the most prolific thriller writers of [the 20th] century", although few of his books are still in print in the UK. 

The books in this collection are from various publishers; Bindings are generally tight and square, books show a bit of edgewear and soil. Some fading to spines. Overall trending from "Fair" to "Good" condition. Average used condition for 85+ year old books.Titles include:

  • The Fellowship of the Frog - Doubleday
  • The Green Ribbon - Crime Club
  • The Face in the Night - A.L. Burt
  • The Murder Book of J.G. Reeder - A.L. Burt
  • The Double - Crime Club
  • The Silver Key - Crime Club
  • Silinski - International Fiction Library
  • The Door With Seven Locks - Doubleday
  • The Terrible People - Doubleday
  • The Day of Uniting - Mystery League
  • The Clue of the New Pin - A.L. Burt
  • The India Rubber Men - Doubleday
  • The Colossus - Doubleday
  • The Clue of the Twisted Candle - Small, Maynard
  • The Stretelli Case - International Fiction Library
  • The Fellowship of the Frog - A.L. Burt