New York Tyographical Union No. 6: A Study of a Modern Trade Union

The International Typographical Union (ITU) was a US trade union for the printing trade for newspapers and other media. It was founded on May 3, 1852 as the United States as the National Typographical Union, and changed its name to the International Typographical Union at its Albany, New York convention in 1869 after it began organizing members in Canada. The ITU was one of the first unions to admit female members, admitting women members such as Augusta Lewis, Mary Moore and Eva Howard in 1869.

Dark brown cloth with gilt lettering. Illustrated frontispiece.  Signed on front endpaper by Eugene M. Travis - New York State Comptroller. A little soil. 6"x9" with 717 indexed pages.

  • New York Typographical Union No. 6: A Study of a Modern Trade Union and Its Predecessors
  • George A. Stevens
  • J. B. Lyon Company, 1913