The Flying Girl and Her Chum

"The Flying Girl" is a children's series written by L. Frank Baum, author of the Wizard of Oz books. Baum pursued an innovative blending of genres to create a feminist adventure melodrama. The book was followed by a sequel, The Flying Girl and Her Chum, published the next year, 1912. Both books were illustrated by Joseph Pierre Nuyttens, the artist who also illustrated Baum's Annabel and Phoebe Daring in 1912. As with Baum's other books for girls, these two novels were published under the pseudonym "Edith Van Dyne."

This book is the very scarce first edition. Mild cover soil and slight stains, fading. Some minor page stains and soil. Owner's names on front innerboard. Front and rear endpapers removed, rear hinge loose. Fair condition.

  • The Flying Girl and Her Chum
  • Edith Van Dyne
  • The Reilly & Britton Co., 1912
  • First edition